Responsible. Resourceful.

Leed Certification

USGBC offers several LEED certification programs.

With the exception of LEED-Neighborhood Development, each of the LEED certification programs offers points to be gained in six broad categories:

  1. Sustainable sites
  2. Water efficiency
  3. Energy and atmosphere
  4. Materials and resources
  5. Indoor environmental quality
  6. Innovation and design process

Points can also be earned for addressing specific regional environmental concerns.

The single-family home category (LEED for Homes) — which launched in January 2008 — also includes points for location and linkages, such as building within one-half mile of public transportation and other community services, as well as homeowner education and awareness.

Based on the number of points earned, the LEED program provides four progressive levels of certification: Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum.